We’ve Come To Declare

I haven’t been motivated to write another blog.  I have been wrestling with what to write about.  So, I decided that I just had to write. So I am going back to writing about music that applies to my life.  I have been having problems being motivated to continue learning Kiswahili in school.  I am very tired of school.  It is nothing against this school or any school.  I’m just worn out from all of the time I have spent in a classroom over the years.  This song by Shane and Shane caught my attention, “We’ve Come to Declare.”

I have come to Kenya for a purpose.  That purpose isn’t just in learning Kiswahili, working with computers, or helping other believers.  It is to declare the Beauty of the Lord.  It would be easier for me to just say that the people that I need to interact with will know English, so I can just communicate using that. For the most part that is certainly true.  However, even if every person here in Kenya knew English, (which isn’t the case) then there would still be a reason for me to learn Kiswahili.  That reason is so that I can declare God’s beauty.

It surprises people when I speak Kiswahili with them.  Yes, it is very common for wazungu (White people) to learn the common phrases and greetings.  However, I finally feel like I am able to go past those.  I don’t know enough yet to talk on a heart level with people, and that is where I will hope to be when I finish my time here at school.  However, I am no longer as lost as I used to be when I converse with people in Kiswahili.  I finally feel like I am able to function in Kiswahili and can converse with people.  Sometimes, it is difficult for me to hear what people are saying because of their accents and pronunciations.  Also it is difficult and I really don’t like being in school.  However, I don’t know of a better place for me to learn Kiswahili.

I know that God has given me this opportunity.  I don’t know how He is going to use it.  I wish He would just give me the ability to speak and understand it without making me put in the time working and studying the language.  However, I know that He has given me the ability to learn this way. So I trust that He will give me the opportunities to use Kiswahili to declare His beauty, and ultimately working in everything for my good and His Glory.

About John

I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. I am from Mableton, Ga. I studied Computer Science at Georgia Tech. Then I earned a Masters of Arts in Intercultural Studies from Asbury Theological Seminary. I am now serving with SIM in Kenya working in Information Technology.
This entry was posted in Kenya and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

