Still Listening

Lately, I have been reflecting back on the past.  I came across this song, Still Listening by Steven Curtis Chapman.  I still absolutely love the way that this song begins.  These little children are singing that same bed-time prayer that I always prayed.

As the song says, “The years can take us far away from the simple child-like faith.” This unfortunately is true.  There are several times when I have thought that God doesn’t listen to my prayers.  Sometimes, this would lead me to stop praying all together.  If He isn’t listening, why keep praying?  Isn’t it just wasted effort and time?  Those are the questions that I was angry enough to even ask to other people.  It wasn’t until years later that I realized that God really did listen to my prayers and one of them in particular.  Not in the way that I was wanting initially, but when I realized that He had listened and answered ‘Yes'(albeit not the way I really meant for it to be) a sense of joy filled me.

As I reflect back on all of those hard times, I can see that God was still listening and acting.  Yes, His answer hasn’t always made sense to me.  It certainly hasn’t always been ‘Yes.’  More times than not, it is ‘Not yet’ or ‘No.’  However, the answer that He gives brings about one of the things that I have been wrestling with for a really long time to try to understand.  There was one time when His answer was so clearly ‘Yes,’ yet somewhere along the way that changed into a ‘No.’ So much so, I ended up slamming into a locked door.  I don’t know how to reconcile that situation with my understanding of who God is.  God is unchanging.  He is the same yesterday, today, and forever more.

Well, it is getting late now.  I’ve had enough reflecting for the night.  So, I’m going to end with this even though I haven’t made sense of God changing His answer, I do still know that He is Still Listening.

About John

I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. I am from Mableton, Ga. I studied Computer Science at Georgia Tech. Then I earned a Masters of Arts in Intercultural Studies from Asbury Theological Seminary. I am now serving with SIM in Kenya working in Information Technology.
This entry was posted in Kenya and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

