Multiplied

So… Once again, it has been a long time since I wrote last. Not much has changed since the last time that I wrote.  I don’t like taking time to sit and reflect because generally it makes me miss home more.  However, I have come to a realization that I will always miss home.  When I am here in Kenya, I will miss the U.S.  When I am in the U.S., I will miss Kenya.  So, I am stuck in that Catch 22.  I will always miss home.

When I woke up this morning, I had received an email from a friend.  She encouraged me to listen to this song, Multiplied by Needtobreathe.  I have decided to reflect on this song.  One of the verses of this song says, “I have surrendered to Your design.”  I have been thinking about what is meant by that statement.  I know that God has a plan for each of our lives.  I know that He has designed not only this world but also me.  I don’t really like the use of the word “surrendered” in this case.  Surrendered seems to place a fatalistic connotation towards His design.  Instead, I am in awe of His design.  I am captivated by it.  I love it, because I love the One who designed it.  The best example that I have for this is caring about that hand drawn picture that a kid makes for you.  Someone that doesn’t have a relationship with that kid isn’t going to appreciate it in the same manner.  Someone who doesn’t love that kid doesn’t place the same value on that artwork.

Now, the title of this song is multiplied.  The chorus calls out asking for “these Halleluiahs be multiplied.”  Faith produces Halleluiahs (praises).  So, Halleluiahs can be multiplied when faith is multiplied.  One of the ways that faith is multiplied is when shared with others.  Today during our office devotion the text was on John 17:18 “As You sent Me into the world, I also have sent them into the world.”  This was part of Jesus’ High Priestly prayer.  He was sent with authority and I have that same authority.  He has sent me out, so that my Halleluiahs to Him can be multiplied.  Not just in my life but in the lives of those around me.

God, please let these Halleluiahs be multiplied!

About John

I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. I am from Mableton, Ga. I studied Computer Science at Georgia Tech. Then I earned a Masters of Arts in Intercultural Studies from Asbury Theological Seminary. I am now serving with SIM in Kenya working in Information Technology.
This entry was posted in Kenya, Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

