Courage

I was thinking back over my previous post, Fear.  Well this morning I read Joshua 1. In 4 short verses God tells Joshua 3 times “Be strong and courageous.”(6, 7, 9)  Merriam-Webster defines Courage as “mental or moral strength to venture, persevere, and withstand danger, fear, or difficulty.”

If I’m Joshua and I have seen all that has happened I’d probably be kind of scared and worried.  Firstly, that would explain why God told me to be strong and courageous three times.  I mean I was one of a few that actually believed that we could take the Promise Land 40 years ago, but the people didn’t listen to me.  So why would now be any different?  Also Moses left me some pretty big shoes for me to fill. Moses did a lot of wonderful miracles.

I’m not Joshua, so I don’t know if that is how he would have felt.  I know that I would have felt fearful and inadequate.  I know this because I have felt that way a lot in my own life.  In those times, I cling to 2 Corinthian 12:9-10 “But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”  I am focusing on my fears and weaknesses it’s like I’m paralyzed and unable to move.  However, when I focus on God and the promises that He has given at that point I am no longer paralyzed and unable to move.  He has set me free.

God is telling me just as He told Joshua “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”  That last promise that He will be with me enables me to not only to be strong and courageous, but also not to be afraid or discouraged.

I hope that you are able to cling to these promises and that you will also “Be strong and very courageous.” (Joshua 1:7)

The_Cowardly_Lion

About John

I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. I am from Mableton, Ga. I studied Computer Science at Georgia Tech. Then I earned a Masters of Arts in Intercultural Studies from Asbury Theological Seminary. I am now serving with SIM in Kenya working in Information Technology.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment